Rotary Honors 14 West Shore Career-Tech Students

Rotary honors top performers in Career-Technical programs.

West Shore Career-Technical District Outstanding Student Award recipients were honored by the Rotary Club of Lakewood and Rocky River at its luncheon on March 14 at the Don Umerley Civic Center.

The 14 students, top performers in their Career-Technical programs, were chosen for their exemplary accomplishments in the classroom, school activities, clubs, athletics and service in the community. Each student exemplifies traits of leadership, dedication, responsibility, caring, community involvement, and initiative.

“The Rotary Outstanding Students represent the 'best of the best' in the West Shore Career Technical District. Our teachers and staff work tirelessly to give all of our students rich academic, technical and real world experiences,” remarked Bill DiMascio, West Shore Career-Technical District educational coordinator.

“These students have taken full advantage of the opportunities afforded to them. No matter what path they chose to follow for future success, we know they possess the relevant knowledge and skills to achieve to their fullest potential.”

Parents, employers, work supervisors and guests were among those in attendance. According to Rotarian Nancy Ralls, West Shore Career-Technical District career development coordinator, this is the 19th year the club has honored the Outstanding Student Award winners.

The Rotary club will present each student with a gift card and a plaque to honor their achievements at West Shore’s annual Career Passport and Student Recognition Assembly on May 17. Each award recipient is automatically nominated to receive the “Career-Technical Student of the Year Award”. The winner will be announced at the Recognition Assembly.

West Shore districts are Bay Village, Lakewood, Rocky River and Westlake. This year West Shore is serving 513 students in its workforce development programs.

The 2015-16 Outstanding Student Award recipients are: Jackson Nugent, automotive technology; Adam Giffels, business management; Brendan Moran, community-based training at GFS; Villie Fabinak, community-based training at Rae Ann; Nicolas Binfield, construction trades; Stephen Watkins, culinary arts; Heather Rakes, early childhood education; Jack Rohde, electronic technology; Brittany Condon, health careers technology; Owen Smith, interactive media; Lay Paw, medical office management; Patrick McGuinness, networking/Cisco; Nicole Harris, engineering/Project Lead the Way; and Liam Carroll, service occupations training.

Read More on Schools & Education
Volume 3, Issue 10, Posted 3:23 PM, 04.07.2016