Take a Tour of Historic Sites
The Rocky River Historical Society is thrilled to be a part of this year’s expanded Rocky River Days Fun Fest. The Rocky River Chamber of Commerce was instrumental in organizing the first Rocky River Day, which was held on August 8, 1953. The tradition continued with the chamber's involvement in celebrating the city's 75th Anniversary on May 3, 1978 and the Bicentennial in 2003.
What we call home today was the region known throughout the land as the Western Reserve of Connecticut. Rocky River, originally part of Rockport Township (created in 1819), was formed as a hamlet in 1891. A hamlet is the smallest form of municipal government; it is sometimes attached to a larger township, in this case, Rockport. Rocky River was incorporated as a village in 1903 and as a city in 1930. It occupies 4.2 square miles on the Lake Erie shore and is 9 miles west of Cleveland. It is bounded on the south by Fairview Park, on the west by Bay Village and Westlake, and on the east by the Rocky River itself.
The area remained predominantly rural until the 1920s, when the transition to a residential area began. The city became a desirable place to live due to the recreational possibilities offered by the lake and river, the clean country air and the easy connection to the Cleveland population brought about by the two bridges over the Rocky River - the Hilliard and Detroit Bridges.
Throughout the 1940s, greenhouses and truck farming were the primary local businesses. Stores were well established along Detroit and Center Ridge Roads. Many businesses such as Jan Dell Flowers and the Rustic Restaurant have called Rocky River home for over 50 years—giving our community a unique blend of old and new.
Come to Rocky River Days on July 12 and 13 and learn more about the history of Rocky River. Trolley tours of lesser-known historic sites in and around Rocky River will run on Saturday from 12 p.m. to 3 p.m. and on Sunday from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Rocky River Historical Society
Courtesy of Rocky River Historical Society